Prowers County Sheriff’ Office

# Verified Instructor Application / Renewal Form
Email form and attachments to ymadrid@prowerscounty.net or Mail to: 103 E Oak St., Lamar, CO 81052

Are you currently a verified instructor with Prowers County Sherift’s Office? Type of verification requested, and associated fee:

0 No O Yes Expiration date: O New = $100.00 O Renewal = $50.00

Address of the principal place where you conduct firearms training (Location must be | Application fee must be paid BEFORE this form can be
in Prowers County: submitted. Check or Money order — payable to the
Prowers County Sheriff’s Office

Applicant’s Name (Last, First, and Middle): Email:

Current Home Address: City / State / Zip: Personal Phone Number:
Mailing Address (if Different from Above): City / State / Zip:

Business Name for Firearms Training: Business Email (if different from above):

Business Website (if any):

Business Address of Firearms Training: City / State / Zip: Business Phone Number:

Type of classes you offer (check all that apply):
O Concealed Handgun Training Class (Initial or first-time) [0 Refresher class [ BOTH

Name and Address of Organization Certifying| Type of Organization Certifying You as Instructor: Certification Number:
You as a Firearm Instructor: O Federal, State, County, or Municipal Law Enforcement Agency

O College or university

O Nationally recognized organization that offers firearms training Certificate Expiration Date:

O Firearms Training School

Colorado CHP Permit No.: Colorado CHP Permit Expiration: Colorado CHP County of Issue:

Attach a copy of all documents listed below (Documents of poor quality may be rejected):

O Concealed Handgun Permit O Receipt for Payment of Application Fee
O Driver’s License O Copy of your Firearms Instructor Training Certificate(s)
O Instructor Certification of Compliance with O Copy of Course Curriculum

Statutory Instruction Requirements

IACKNOWLEDGMENT AND RELEASE OF INFORMATION

o T acknowledge that I have read, understand, and am abiding by all requirements of HB24-1174.

e [understand that C.R.S. § 18-12-202.7(3)(c) requires the Sheriff to maintain a record of my name as a verified instructor and to post my name and
the expiration of my instructor’s verification on the Sheriff’s website. I consent to this information being released to the public and posted on the
Prowers County Sheriff’s website.

o [ affirm that the information on this Application is true, correct, and complete, and I acknowledge and understand that the information I have
provided on this Application will be verified by the Sheriff’s Office.

Signature: Date:

Below section for CHP staff only — DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE

Initials: [Date: Notes:

All documents received

lInformation Verified

STATUS *If not approved, the sheriff’s

Rt bl ity v s R i, Circle one: Approved Denied Revoked Suspended

[Updated LOG

IUpdated on website

IUpdated CHP list

Scanned into EDMS

Revised 7/02/2024



A Prowers County Sheriff’s Office

103 E. Oak Street, Lamar, Colorado 81052
719-336-8050  719-336-7900 fux
Sheriff Sam Zordel

INSTRUCTOR CERTIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE WITH
STATUTORY INSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS

I , hereby certify that the concealed handgun training class that I instruct complies
(Printed Name of Instructor)

with all requirements of C.R.S. § 18-12-202.5, including, specifically, the following:

SECTION 1: Requirements for Initial and Refresher Concealed Handgun Training Classes (if you instruct any

type of training class — i.e., a standard class for first-timers or a refresher class — you must initial each

requirement in this section):

1. The class is held in person with the instructor at the same location as the students and no part of the class
is conducted via the internet;

2. The class includes a live-fire shooting exercise that is conducted on a range, and that requires discharging
at least fifty (50) rounds of ammunition and the student to achieve a minimum seventy percent (70%)
accuracy score.

3. The class includes a written concealed handgun competency exam, which must be administered as an
open book exam, on the topics listed in Paragraph 2 of Section 2 below and requires that a student
achieve a passing score of at least eighty percent (80%) on such exam.

4. The class complies with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 42 U.S.C. § 12101 et seq.

5. The instructor provides any student completing the class a training certificate that includes the student’s
printed name and the instructor’s original signature and clearly indicates the type of class the student
completed.

SECTION 2: REQUIREMENTS FOR INITIAL CONCEALED HANDGUN TRAINING CLASSES: (If you

teach standard Concealed Handgun Training Classes, you must initial each requirement in this Section):

1. The class provides a minimum of eight (8) hours of instruction;

2. The class includes instruction on each of the following elements:
Knowledge and safe handling of firearms and ammunition;

Safe storage of firearms and child safety;

Safe firearms shooting fundamentals;

Federal and state laws pertaining to the lawful purchase, ownership, transportation, use, and
possession of firearms, including instruction on extreme risk protection orders described in article
14.5 of title 13 of the Colorado Revised Statutes, requirements for reporting lost or stolen firearms
described in C.R.S. § 18-12-113, secure firearms storage requirements described in C.R.S. § 18-12-
114, and any other state law enacted within five (5) years before the class that pertains to the
purchase, ownership, transportation, use, and possession of firearms;

State law pertaining to the use of deadly force for self-defense;

Best practices to ensure concealed handgun permit holders safely interact with law enforcement
personnel who are responding to an emergency; and

Techniques for avoiding a criminal attack and how to manage a violent confrontation, including
conflict resolution and judgmental use of lethal force.

SECTION 3: REQUIREMENTS FOR REFRESHER CONCEALED HANDGUN TRAINING CLASSES: (If
you teach refresher Concealed Handgun Training Classes, you must initial each requirement in this Section):
1. The class provides a minimum of two (2) hours of instruction.

2. The class requires the students to demonstrate safety and competence with a handgun.

3. The class includes instruction on changes to federal and state laws related to firearms within five years
before the refresher class.




Prowers County Sheriff’s Office

103 E. Oak Street, Lamar, Colorado 81052
719-336-8050  719-336-7900 fux
Sheriff Sam Zordel

SECTION 4: ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF INSTRUCTOR

I understand that if the training class I instruct does not comply with the above-listed requirements my verification
may be suspended or revoked. I affirm that I will keep and maintain course materials or other records sufficient to
demonstrate that the class(es) I instruct complies with the foregoing requirements for ten years. I agree to provide
copies of any of those course materials or other records to the Sheriff of Prowers County, or designee, upon request,
and I understand that the failure to do so may result in suspension or revocation of my instructor verification.

Signature: Date:
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